Master Mariner

By MasterMariner

Bitter End

Is the term used on board ships for the end of a rope, wire or even a chain. I don't know where it comes from but I do know that it is very old. I think the word bitter was used if the end of a rope is seen unwantedly passing by. Here you can see the bitter end of our tow wire. It disappears in the drum and is connected there with a small clamp. By no means it can hold all the force if the wire would decide to slip. When it will slip I don't know, three turns? four? I do know that there is an awful lot of friction needed to hold the wire on the drum now, but I also know that this is a perfectly safe configuration. But again; it would be a very bitter situation if the wire would slip. Our tow is 1470 meters behind us now, and finally an awful big barge looks small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.