Under The Shed

New shed installed, it was time to shift the old one, under which were stored two pairs of stained glass windows. I have been racking my brains to remember exactly when I obtained them, although the circumstances are very clear in my mind.

In the mid-late 1990's I worked regular days within the old Royal Infirmary and used to pass the building (approximate original position marked on the map; I believe it had been the New Tollcross Cinema, 140 Lauriston Place, which opened in 1912) on my way home, admiring the large stained glass windows on the upper floor, which I thought so similar to those (Glasgow School) of my church, Central Hall, which opened in 1901.  Out of the blue, to my horror, I saw that the building was under demolition and was concerned for those windows - would they be reduced to rubble? They should be rescued without delay.

There began a series of attempts to speak to whoever was in charge, which ended with a conversation in the site workman's hut, (complete with teapot on the boil), being assured that the large windows were spoken for (much relief) but the smaller ones above were not - and if I wanted them I must get them myself.

Which, needing no further invitation, I did: one evening shortly afterwards Mr Flum and I climbed up two (or was it three?) floors of scaffolding, armed with pliers and screwdrivers, to prise out the century-old pins holding the wooden battens to release the window frames. There were one or two casualties of cracked glass, where a part just would not shift, but we returned home with our prize, astonished that not one member of the public noticed our activity or considered it worthy of a call to the police.

The windows were placed under the shed to protect them from the elements and there they have lain; I did hope they might be useful to the church in some planned alterations, but these never came to pass; our building was sold and the internal stained glass has been removed (oh! how I wish I knew what became of that...).

I'd love to hear from anyone who can recall that building but, now the windows have come to light I must see if repairs are feasible and find a way of displaying them.

Edit: Here is a  nice colour photo of the building, with the shaped upper windows of my blip, though, regrettably, the pattern of the larger ones beneath cannot be seen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.