This life thing...

By mrpin

Ping-Pong

''The most underrated sport in the world'' - fact? Yes. I think so, I can't help but agree with Nate on this one. Emotionally, and physically draining, silly name, silly bats, and the humorous sound of ball on table/bat has to make table tennis/ping-pong not only the most intense game in the world but probably THE beautiful game.

Sadly I couldn't match the intensity of my opponent being thrashed 10-2 - it's not a game for the weak hearted. The scoreline I have to say doesn't do the actual game justice, its was a lot closer than that - and I didn't have my shorts on.

Either way I had to buy the drinks outside Family Mart. During which we met ''Rick.'' I've seen him about here a lot recently - he sticks out like a sore thumb. There are plenty of foreigners but his long blonde hair, rugged beard and general attire sets him apart from your average English teacher.

As a ''drifter'' he's been living rough in Gwangan for the last couple weeks and travelling for over 6 years. In this time he's been all over the place working all sorts of jobs - he spoke incredibly quietly (it looked like he had earplugs in) but seemed to have a real love for China, showing us a book on Mao he had in his bag. The bag had a chinese character written on it - the translation underneath said "Good Fortune''. Since arriving in Korea he's been busking, saving enough to buy a rowing boat from some guy on the beach for 200,000 won, in which he plans to sail to Seoul. I wish him well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.