misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Old Oxford House

Not what I thought I would post today.
 I did get a decent photo of the Chenango River that is well over its banks today. But I believe it will rise even further in the next few days. No rush. I rained all night last night but only grey skies and cold today.
Normal spring flood, so far, for us
.
And I found a "properly" derelict house falling apart when I was driving a different way to my friend's house yesterday. I was intent of getting a good blip of Duke (thanks for all your stars and praise for the Duke).But driving all the way out for that blip today did not seem imprortant. It will be still falling down next Thursday, too.
And this morning I just signed up for a "Citizen Scientist" research project. The purpose is to document a budding tree/shrub or trees from now until winter and perhaps in the coming years. It is to show how the time of budding is changing (or not). I have signed up on www.budburst.org (hope the address is right). The goal to visually report on how the buds are bursting forth where they live. It is to keep track of whether the global change is actually happening and how...
People from all over sign up. I do not think it is limited to the U.S. People can choose to follow only one tree or shrub or several. But consistency is key.
I am doing my pussy willows who have burst with their "kittykins" now. They are about a month behind what I remember. There will be no way to show that. I may do other willows in my garden also.
Another interesting Citizen Scientist project coming up is following the monarch butterflies as they return and live here until the autumn to mexico. They were reported today as having recently left their winter home in mexico (later than usual) and are expected across the U.S. in the coming weeks. I wonder if they knew that we are having a late cold spring? I have started a bunch  of red/pink swamp milkweed for them. The seeds are chilling on the bottom shelf in the fridge.
I may sign up for that project, too. It depends on how involved this budburst research becomes. I may blip buds sometimes too for bipfoto...

So, what about the old house in today's blip window? The widow's walk at the top was common in the 1800's New England architecture. I think it is an affectation. Where you usually see these is along the ocean shore in New England. The women (widows) climbed to their walk to look out to sea for the whalers or other fishing boats returning.
Yet this is a well-maintained old house within the village. To the far left you can see one of their golden labs out taking care of his business. They have a couple of 5 gallon buckets connected to hoses draining the sap from their sugar maples. The maple syrup boys will be driving around soon to take another collection and go to the sugaring house to boil the sap down for maple syrup before the season ends.
Everyone who participates simply donates their trees for collection. I think they get a bit of maple sugar candy in thanks for participating, or a small bottle of syrup
Before the syrup season ends I shall try to go out and get a photo or two of the sugaring process. I did this two years ago and some photos are on the 2013 spring blips, I think. Just as long as we have nights with below freezing temps (<32º) the sap will flow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.