Rosbif

By Rosbif

Day 75 - First lift to last lift.

Today was my last day skiing in St Gervais this season (closing time), so I marked the occasion by getting up there early to see how many kilometres I could ski in one day. With a sandwich in my backpack I could eat on the chairlift to maximise skiing time. The stats said 67km skied, 110km total distance covered, I did 32 runs and maxed 105.1km/h. I was hoping to ski 100km, but was hampered by being sociable and very slushy snow after 2pm. I think 100k is possible but would require more focus and no chat unless on a chairlift. Hmmm, a challenge for next season perhaps.

This image shows a totally empty chairlift in front if me as I was the first one on it today. I was the first one on most of the lifts and pistes, it was great to feel like I had it all to myself for an hour. I think was also one of the last on the mountain as had to get a bus back to the car park having missed the last telecabine.

Every day skiing is a good day. Thank you St Gervais, see you next season. (Still 1 more week in Les Contamines tho)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.