The Aftermath

A day of going nowhere for us today, with unpacking, washing, and preparing for work to be done following our European adventure. I (Annie) have loved the surprise of planning a route and visits for Chris, but with him not knowing where he was going until the day before each day.

For those who haven't followed along, all Chris knew before we left was that he was going to Europe and for how long - he got a pack each evening telling him where the next day was taking him. It helped to make it more exciting for both of us. Oh, he also knew we were meeting friends of ours somewhere (but not where), because I was taking them some Branston Pickle, Chilli Seeds and a tin of paint - hard to explain why we'd need those otherwise!

Many commenters have said how lovely it was of me to do that for him - not at all - I really enjoy travel, and the planning of it has been fantastic fun. Perhaps a career change for me? ;)

Here is (roughly) the route we took, in pin-and-string form. The danger of me planning the original route on my iPad was that it was all too easy to pinch the map smaller, and get overambitious about where we could go in the time. Hungary? Finland? No, Annie....

TripAdvisor is fabulous for checking out the fun or unusual hotels - unusual is great, but you do still want them to be good. I had spent a few months googling for "Amazing Places in Europe", and "Unusual Places to Visit in Europe", etc. to start to pencil out a route. I have a whole host of places as yet unvisited, so yes, the next trip is forming in my mind already...

A total of around 3,050 miles and 8 countries covered in 11 days. Lots of places whizzed through - and we need to return << slower >>.

If you'd like to see the trip from the start, Day 0 is here, and all entries are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.