Waylaid by a choc ice..

I decided to walk along the canal this evening to our Saltaire blipmeet and a very surreal experience it was too. I had a few niggles as I turned on to the towpath about being alone but heck, I'm not going to be stopped doing what I want to do because of that. Nevertheless I have a pretty fertile imagination......

Leaving Bingley was fine because there were lots of dogwalkers, cyclists and runners going back and forth. I'm pretty sure the couple in front of me at one point were looking for an opportunity to whang their empty drink bottles into the canal, but by sheer force of will I deterred them for at least as long as I was behind them....then three very unsteady cyclists came towards me. I said hello to the first and she promptly ran into the wall at which point her male companion asked me if I had a spanner ?! Over the bridge and I picked up the pace past two dodgy looking guys with small terriers in a field. I hope those rabbits were well hidden! Then came the long expanse of canal through Hirst Wood and suddenly I was alone with footsteps coming up behind me and some serious heavy breathing....would I be safer in the canal or in the bushes I thought? Luckily it was another very slow runner..

When I reached the lock at Hirst Wood there was Lennie sitting on his bike hoping to catch the last evening wanderers with an ice cream. We both agreed that a choc ice in exchange for a blip was a good deal but chatting to him made me late for the very fine blipmeet at Fanny's, hence my title which is the text I sent to yearofhappy.
Please do buy an ice cream from Lenny if you are walking on the canal - the choc ices certainly have very yummy dark chocolate.

Meanwhile the Blipmeet moved on from Fanny's to the Boathouse, I met the lovely Snapshot Sam for the first time as well as our daughters' teacher Jonnieb1 and his brother Andy (six degrees of separation again!) I caught up with PaulFS and Earthdreamer and finally got to hear the bear story from Spartan which was well worth the wait! Thankyou guys, great evening out, look forward to the next one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.