Treasure Box

Dave gave me this box a few Christmases back. I had admired it in an antique shop window at some stage through the year. Its an old sewing box as the inside lid is lined with padded, ripped rose coloured silk - suitable as a pin cushion but I use it for jewellery and treasures. I wonder how old it is and who owned it first?

I love boxes. There used to be a shop in New Regent Street called simply "Boxes" and they sold everything from the smallest pill box through to large chests of drawers and enormous, lacquered Chinese cabinets. I loved mooching in there. Anyone know if it has popped up somewhere since the quake? I can's see it on the web with a new address. Maybe they will come back. i am not sure of the current state of New Regent Street. I hope its going to survive, it was lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.