horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Healey Birthday to Mel!

I love it when a plan comes together...

Knowing that I had to be near Dollar to pick up the big Healey by 9 this morning, and wanting to keep it as a surprise birthday treat for Mel, I didn't want to drag her early from her bed given it was her big day, nor disappear out leaving her on her tod. So. I made a video. I roped in a few friends to give 'clues' for some wee presents, disappeared out with a cryptic birthday message, and left a big note to watch the video that was ready to play on the iPad on the table.

Couldn't have worked better. Apparently even made her cry (I'm not in the habit of wanting to make my wife cry, but it was in a good way...). And then she heard me arrive, before I'd had the chance to park up and phone her to tell her to look out the front. Because this is a monstrous beast. So much fun. So noisy. So... Involving. So rudimentary.

Personally I reckon prettier than an E Type (the same company has one of those for hire as well).

I'll be picking Mel's dad up later for us to go out for dinner (at the fab l'Escargot Bleu), so it'll get a spin round Arthur's Seat. Might result in some more picturesque photos, but it's Mel's birthday, so she gets the shot.

Got this till Saturday evening, so hoping the weather improves and we can indulge in some topless motoring...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.