thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 134 #366photos: Great Wall

27 May 2012

Mutianyu, the Great Wall of China

It is spectacular. We opted to climb rather than take the cable car or chair lift. It was really hot and tough going. I'm really unfit but it was very, very steep. My thighs felt like stone and I found it difficult to breathe. At one point, I was feeling really dizzy and we hadn't even reached the actual Wall yet. Once I caught my breath and we reached the top, it was steep and rickety, with lots of uneven parts and small steps.

We took the toboggan coming down which was really good fun, if a little scary at first. I kept asking questions about the brakes and the guy just kept shouting 'It's easy; GO, GO, GO!' Unfortunately, we couldn't take photos but some people have taken sneaky videos so you can see how fun it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.