NormPietila

By NormPietila

Which came first, the trees or the car?

Visiting the auto wreckers is an amazing experience. I was searching for a steering wheel for a photography project and I poked my head into many gently rusted or squished cars and trucks. John is the retired owner of his 50 acre piece of land. Had a great conversation listening to many of his stories about life. I asked him if he would take all his "junk" to a metal scrap yard for money and said he could be a millionaire. He responded by saying "his land would be empty and he would be forced to farm it and what good is all that money anyway". He lives with at least a dozen outdoor cats and can listen to the music of a busy frog pond all day. He regularly gets visits from photography groups getting classic images of old cars, trucks, buses, machinery, etc (no charge). Well at last I found a steering wheel that was detached. It was not exactly the one I hoped for as I was looking for an old one with the chrome horn ring. John told me I should have been there 30 years ago. I will put my photoshop skills to work and the end result will be perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.