Surveying!

My final piece of work today for the archaeology course I have been doing at UCC, this is a field survey and I have chosen to do a comparison of three ringforts in the area, there are plenty to choose from but the chosen three are very local to home. Freespiral, who shares my interest and enthusiasm for all things archaeological and historical had agreed to come along and help, so armed with compasses, cameras, clip board, broom handle, pens, maps and most importantly coffee and energy bars we set off to Maulimile fort. Very grateful to have a helper, I managed to loose both my pen and glasses very early on, reading the compass was a bit confusing and we managed to get the tape all tangled on more than one occasion, there was certainly a lot of laughter!
The location of these ringforts are stunning, often located on hillocks or tops of drumlins. They are not forts in the military sense of the word but rather defended farmsteads. Todays weather was perfect, not a cloud in the sky and a bit of a breeze to keep us cool. My blip is at the second ringfort on my neighbours land, he had kindly strimmed a couple of paths.
to make access a bit easier.
We made a brief visit to the third ringfort, which was much larger, with larger banks and a moat, occupied by someone of high status but the measuring will have to wait for another day, time for a bevy at the local hostelry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.