Hot from the oven

It's years since I last baked this American apple cake recipe. Can't wait for pudding time!

I'm not a great eater of raw apples, but I do like the fruit bowl to be full when the family comes home. Ten days after they've left I've turned a bunch of bananas into two banana loaves (baked yesterday; sliced and frozen today) and now I've used up three large Royal Gala apples in this flan. It's the tastiest way to eat them, in my opinion, with cream, of course!

Oh, though I didn't freeze all the banana loaf. We had a slice with our coffee. Once frozen, though, it thaws quickly and it's easy to take out just a couple of slices. Then we go on enjoying it for longer without eating too much. I'm pretty sure this will freeze well, too, if I cut it into helpings first.

It's the right weather for baking. It's true that one swallow doesn't make a summer. I saw this year's first in the village last night. Then, today, it's gone cooler and been raining. Tomorrow the sun's due to return, but with a 45mph east wind. So it won't be red hot.

Time to lay the table ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.