Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

I lied.

Much later than everyone else's, somewhat frost bitten, but mercifully saved from the bullfinches, the first camellia opens today.  Lots more buds to come. 

I hacked about in the undergrowth for a long time today, trying to find bits of the garden I have not seen for some time.  There is gently managed wilderness (my aim) and there is impenetrable jungle.  Parts of the garden resemble the second and I am trying to nudge them gently back to the first. I love the unintended self-sown consequences of neglect, however.  I found a honeysuckle that has used a rhododendron as a step ladder and is now half way up the larch.  I am very stiff now and I know I shall regret the effort first thing tomorrow. 

I also spent several hours penning a difficult letter and then some time finally tidying up 2014/5 finance. I have mixed feelings about the next financial year, but more of that anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.