Lesley and Paul

I would like to introduce you to Lesley and Paul, my travel companions these past three days. Their company has been unveeringly delightful and I feel blessed to have met them. I feel like my 're-set' button has been pressed and I'm ready to carry on!

I asked them, separately, if they were in the habit of befriending waifs and strays. Paul said they didn't meet many when sailing off the west coast of Scotland. Lesley said I didn't look like a waif. I asked if that was because of the ice cream... I think that is perhaps a better snapshot of the two of them than the one I've posted - Paul is practical and funny and Lesley is irreverent - amongst many other fine qualities they both possess.

We've had a lovely warm day of wandering around temples, gardens and bamboo groves around the northwest corner of Kyoto. There were kimonos and ice cream. There were probably other things but why look when there are kimonos and ice cream?

We had fallen into that habit of trying to pay for each other, saying 'no, it's my turn' and then trying to graciously accept. At the last ice cream of the day (Sakura flavoured, naturally), Lesley tried to pay and I said that she could pay for dumplings but that I have a long history of paying for ice cream. Paul said he could believe that and I thanked him.

They're off to continue their adventures tomorrow and I wish them well!

Way too many on Flickr, including what I think is a Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired kimono...
https://www.flickr.com/photos/whiskyfoxtrot/?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.