shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Back to nature

This is a week of firsts. First visit to the Sheldonian, first blips of the Headington Shark and Carfax Tower, so this afternoon I thought I'd better keep it up and enjoy the lovely weather in Rivermead Nature Park, the wildest of Oxford's parks (at least in my experience to date), and so close to my house, that it's embarrassing I've not been before. I thought it would take me 10 minutes or so for a wee wander, it's not that big, but was there for over an hour clambering over dead trees and exploring wee paths. Fantastic! Not many folk there either, apart from a group of volunteers picking up litter and cutting back weeds (my house mate tells me they spoiled all the brambles last year by cutting back too harshly, though I and my trousers found a good amount in the furthest reaches), and a few visitors, collecting tadpoles from the pond I think. Not the kind of park with benches and mown lawns, but all the better for it, proper wild country (if you ignore the sound of cars on the ring road, and bicycle bells from the tow path across the canal)! If it wasn't so warm and sunny I'd say it reminds me of home! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.