Let There Be Light

By solli

23 Lenape Lane

Home Sweet Home

There is a field in Lenape Park where one can find seven bird houses numbered 20 through 26. Contained in them are beautifully feathered nests which are homes for the resident tree swallows.

A mated pair particularly like the feel of number 23. I can't say I blame them since it's adjacent to a large shady tree and the box shelter feels rather protected. The male will sit atop the green metal pole and survey the surrounding area, while his missus flits in and out of her nest.

After about an hour under the cloudless sky, I thought it best to move to the shade of the tree, and was happily noting the coolness of the breezes when a redwing blackbird pooped 18 inches to my right. Who would've thought?

Anyway, last night I spent a few hours in the field trying to get close enough for a few clear shots of the birds, but the swallows would only tolerate me at a certain distance before they flew away. The shots are grainy since the sun was setting, but I did get rewarded with multiple mosquitoes bites and a headful of gnats!

I'm going to give it a go tonight and tomorrow since I like the way their wings are backlit from the setting sun. You can see the wingspan here!


Thanks to all for the stars and hearts on yesterday's hover bee! I hope everyone is having a terrific Thursday, our weather here is finally stupendous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.