pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

KINGFISHER IN FLIGHT

Its hard to get a kingfisher in flight thats reasonably sharp. Its the beginning of the crabbing season for them here so I chose this one today in preference to feeding birds.  Reason being is I liked the wing structure.  I fly birds out of my loft and I'm aware that a good flying bird has what is called a 10/10 flight structure.  I note this one Has a 10/12 which I've never notived before.  I think this would make it a very good flyer. ( which of course they are )  10/12 meaning 10 primary wing feathers and 12 secondary flight feathers.
The picture was a bit messy with heaps of ugly branches so I vinetted it to focus on the bird and its lovely wing.  Doubtful I'd get away with it in a natural History environment but - what the heck !!
Thanks for those who looked up my backblips this week. - My fav. was the bellbird.

rgds poo
rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.