Still some snow

Woke this morning to a clear sky, and almost no wind. At our meeting yesterday Jim had said that he intended to cycle out to the Te Rewa Rewa Bridge as he wanted to get a photo of the sun rising behind the bridge. I thought I could run out the same way, but along one of the streets, past Lake Rotomanu, and arrive at the bridge that way.

Just as I arrived, Jim was walking over the bridge with his camera and tripod ready to set up. Good to met up with him again. I took a quick photo "through" the arch of the bridge as the sun continued to lurk behind the trees and hills to the east. Decided, I would start back along the Coastal Walkway.

Only about 100m along I saw a Kawau tuawhenua (the Great Cormorant)on a rock, and was able to get a very good photo, especially in the low light. Further back to the city, and I saw Taranaki through a gap in the trees, and got the photo.

It was about 5 - 10 minutes after official sunrise, and the light hitting the  mountain was still orange. Makes for a beautiful shot.

Later this morning S and I went to Pukekura Park, and walked around the azalea dell (only a few in flower), and just enjoyed the peacefulness of the gardens. Then back here for a relaxing afternoon, watching the sea and and the sun.

Late in the afternoon, we were entertained by an aerial display by three small aeroplanes. Went on for almost an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.