Fritillary count

I was up fairly early, as Alex was off to work at 8am. It was a gorgeous morning, so once he'd left I went down to Thorpe Meadows to see if the snake's-head fritillaries were flowering. I'd been just over a week ago and there'd been no sign of them.

Today I was in luck. They were flowering perfectly, still beaded with early morning dew. I walked all round the fields where the grow, and counted over sixty plants. This is a 50% increase on the previous highest count - really pleasing. I was also pleased to find all the usual associates, including cowslips, cuckooflower, great burnet and adder's-tongue fern. Spring has certainly changed gear - orange tip, speckled wood and holly blue were all on the wing today, and at last the garden is teeming with bees and hoverflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.