memento

By memento

Luminary

Spurred on by the relentless and rapid passing of the days, I focused on brainstorming for the decorative element of an event coming up in July that must have a strong, visual punch but also be economical. One can't beat these giant tissue paper puff balls for the way they cover a large area quickly and are easy to make from a rainbow of colors. Today I discovered (and I'm sure I'm not the first) that they look amazing with a battery operated LED light in the center. I imagined them as centerpieces, half-puffs, three sizes, the lights turned on before guests arrive and as the daylight fades from the windows, how they would magically start glowing. Other ideas explored: flowers/lanterns from soda cans, plastic bottles and other recycled things. You see, the party is for a gentlemen who is a legend in his hometown for the sculptures and gadgets he creates from found objects and scrap metal. These puff balls might be a titch too girly, I'll have to consult with the party planners.

At 3:00 pm today, Mr. M yelled down: DO NOT LOOK OUT THE WINDOW!! He yelled it in such a way that I knew he wanted me to look out the window, so I did. It was snowing/sleeting so hard that I couldn't see the house across the street. Two steps forward, six steps back, that's April for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.