See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Ella, The Eagle Owl..........

...............Flew over my house and landed in the garden.........


.....Not really, I'm only joking, but it got your attention, didn't it?

 I decided to go to a Bird of Prey Centre that I've been hearing about. I have to say that I was in my element with magnificent birds all over the place. It was a very quiet day for them and it turned out that there were only four visitors this morning, so we were treated to a ringside seat for the flying display when lots of the birds get their exercise. The handlers saw I had a camera and was enjoying taking lots of photos so they kept standing right behind me for the birds to fly back to and I was able to get some 'head-on' in-flight shots, which I was really thrilled about but I think I need a bit more practice as only a few were in focus :-/ After the flying display we were invited to hold this gorgeous Eagle Owl and I was amazed at how light she was as she stood nearly two foot tall. It was such an amazing, if not a little daunting,  experience for me to be eye to eye with this fantastic creature....her sharp beak only an arms length from my nose but I walked away intact ;-)))
I didn't stay for the second flying display with different birds, as there was an hour and a half to wait and not much to do there to fill the time as it's only a small place and I had already been round it at least twice while I was waiting for the first flying display but I think I might return another day to watch the second display. Then I had the really hard choice of which shot to blip but I chose Ella in the end as I had made such a good connection with her, hope you like her too  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.