jenfisher1

By jenfisher1

#67 Paseos Los Monos

Fed up of sitting in the hostel, I decided to go and start volunteering even though my throat wasn´t 100% better. I got to Los Monos after a very confusing couple of buses into the jungle region near Banos, and walked the 2km path down to the animal centre.

Los Monos is primarily a rescue centre for monkeys who were previously kept as pets, and the owner attempts to prepare the monkeys for release back into the wild. However the centre was also home to a lot of birds, tortoises, and about 8 Coatis. I got to the centre and was met by a few other volunteers who were cleaning the animal cages, and was shown to my room and around the fairly huge grounds that the centre owned and looked after. Later on I met the cigar-smoking Swiss owner Yvan, who took me up to meet Tarzan the Coati (pictured) and explained what kind of work I´d be doing during my time at the centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.