The Old Millstone

Me, mum and grandma went on an expedition today. It was the first trip of the season to our very old summer house. It was a wonderful warm and sunny day. Both the blue and the white anemones, and several other early spring flowers, were still in full bloom, while others, like the lily of the valley, the tulips and the cherry trees, hadn't started yet. I was on my running line, and followed mum around, exploring.

We planted flowers with Felix the rabbit. Mum removed the mice traps, fortunately empty, before I was let inside the house. Mum cut the roses, which took a long time, during which I had to sit with grandma. We all had coffee and egg-and-bacon sandwiches, well, I had egg and bacon and a meatball and no coffee, to be precise. Some lovely running around on the grass, that mum with a sigh of relief said doesn't need to be mowed until next week. I did bark at our very nice neighbour, who came over to say hello. Mum was Not happy.

From 1797 until the early 1900s, our place has housed a hand paper factory, an ironwork factory and smithy and a mill. This is one of the old millstones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.