Elephant Rock Memorial......

...A friend posted an article about this on FB yesterday and seeing as it was only a 40 min drive from our place and seeing as I was totally gobsmacked at the beauty of the Poppy Memorial at the Tower of London (of which I only saw pics) we wazzed up the coast to have a look.
It looked fabulous although it was pretty hard to get a decent shot of it with all the goings on with blokes in yellow shirts looking very important .... rolled up red carpets ..... big boxes of stuff and lots of trucks.
Tomorrow will look fabulous but I will not be going as crowds to me are like fingernails on the blackboard.
The whole rock looked gorgeous with the red poppies flowing all over it but there was something I really liked about this shot.....especially the texture of the rock itself and of course the little guy who was not sure what was going on.
Apparently a heap of local kids made the poppies out of plastic bottles...presumably recycled.
Every thing is ANZAC at the moment....a 100 year Memorial....I even got an ANZAC $1 today...which for some reason I need to save for my friend Sleepyhead.
There is something about it all that is rumbling around in my inner workings...this ANZAC stuff...some strange feelings about it all...something doesn't sit quite right...something missing.......I will chew it over and see what pops out.

I am thinking this might have something to do with my questioning.

“Our prime minister could embrace and forgive the people who killed our beloved sons and fathers, and so he should, but he could not, would not, apologise to the Aboriginal people for 200 years of murder and abuse. The battle against the Turks, he said in Gallipoli, was our history, our tradition. The war against the Aboriginals, he had already said at home, had happened long ago. The battle had made us; the war that won the continent was best forgotten”
Peter Carey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.