BrightNBreezy1

By BrightNBreezy1

Daydream believer...

The great excitement today appeared to be the opening of a new local Aldi store...  as we have only a Waitrose within 4 miles I suspected it would prove popular. I needed shopping so left it until the mayor's official opening and all the razzmatazz had been and gone...or so I thought!! Some people really would go to the opening of an envelope and the area was gridlocked!! Blue balloons floated everywhere and Waitrose had to lay on security to stop Aldi shoppers from parking! Madness!!

The evening was far more pleasant. I went with friends to see 'The Sixties' show, starring two local talents. It really was a fun musical journey through the period... well worth catching if it's in your local theatre.

The encore was bittersweet for me with the audience joining in with 'Daydream Believer'...a song that brought me and my uni friends together to dance at the end of our uni discos in the 70s. Sadly we lost one dear friend about 15 years ago and one of her young daughters sang the song at her funeral. Each time I hear the song I am reminded of the joy of close friends and of how precious life is.

I would have liked to have posted a photo of the performance but of course that wasn't allowed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.