Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Katy did WHAT?

Okay, this is kind of a lame title, but it made me giggle, so you'll have to suffer along. This fetching little creature is a Bush Katydid Nymph. How do I know that, you ask? Ha! Well, I reached out to my favorite guys at Whats That Bug and they quickly emailed me with an id. Love the Bugmen! It also made me realize that what I mistakenly believed to be a cricket last year, in one of my more popular Bug Blips was actually an adult katydid. I like these things - I think they are very cool looking. So, it is fun to see that I've got a crop of babies living all over my day lilies. Good thing there are a lot of them, because I suspect the birds will devour a fair number. Nature is a savage mistress, eh?

I took this with one of my close up filters, so the focus was a big dodgy, but you can see his interesting markings and the quizzical look on his face as he asks that ever-daunting question ... "Katy did what?"

For reference, this little guys is less than a cm in length (about 1/4 inch). You can see one of his siblings HERE. Also in the same size range was this tiny irredescent fly - this thing was actually more like 1/2 cm. If anyone knows what it is, please let me know. Otherwise I'll have to bug the BugMan again... haha. (I think I've been reading too many of OutdoorGuy's journal entries ...)

Thanks for sending my flying darner buzzing onto the Spotlight Page today - I'm sure he'd be chuffed if he was capable of such an emotion. I am certainly tickled!

Happy Friday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.