Horseguards Pat-a-cake

Before the parade for the Centenary Commemoration of Gallipoli set off on Saturday, we had to wait for getting on for two hours, once we had gone through security checks. The last half an hour we had moved into position in Horseguards Avenue, and were all lined up ready to go. 
I don't know who this chap was with his son, but he spoke to lots of military people and they all seemed to know him. Also, he was wearing his medals on the left, which meant that they were his, and not those of a  relative ( I wore my Granddad's medals on my right). It was quite touching to see him playing pat-a-cake with his young lad, and also a few minutes later, he was making sure that the boy's clothes were all "just so". The statue of the Gurkha is on the right hand side of this picture. I didn't know till later that evening about the dreadful earthquake in Nepal, which makes it even more poignant. 
We weren't allowed to take photos whilst marching or when we were in position at the Cenotaph, although I did sneak in one or two as my camera was on a cross-chest strap and was hanging at my hip, so I didn't have to pick it up - just press the button and keep my fingers crossed. 
All in all, it was a fantastic day, and one which I'll never forget. The buglers playing "The Last Post"  with the sound reverberating around the buildings of Whitehall, made the tears fall, and many there were wiping their eyes. 
And then the reading:
They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.
It was all very emotional, and I am so glad that I applied for a place, and that I was lucky enough to be chosen to attend and to remember my Grandfather and all of the other young men who were injured or killed in that most awful campaign. 
It was amazing to finish the march along Whitehall and round into Green Park. The crowds were from 5 to 8 deep on the pavements in some places, and they were clapping and cheering for us. We'd done nothing, except to try and remember our relatives who had been at Gallipoli. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.