CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Wheel Nuts' car show at St. Rose's in Stroud

We both gathered sufficient energy from somewhere to go to the special car show being held at the school where Helena works.  It is called 'Wheel Nuts' and is held every year to raise money for the special school which needs a lot of money for all the special equipment the school offers. 

The weather had improved by lunchtime and became warm and intermittently sunny which meant the show would be successful.  We have been twice before and I must admit to always liking these opportunities to see the old cars of my formative years and earlier.  But even more interesting is to see the people who bring them and like to show them off.  Some bring cars worth very large amounts of money, but many others are in very simple machines that were very common in their day, but they are all their pride and joy.

As I was leaving I heard the announcement over the 'tannoy' that this Cadillac had won the 'Best in Show' award.  I had shown it two years ago when I managed to persuade its owners to pose for me by the car in their contemporary clothes.  It is worth a look at them here, where you can read the background to this 1929 car, which they hire out for weddings and any other event you like.


I have also posted a range of pictures of some of the other cars and motorbikes here on this Flickr gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.