Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Helping Behaviour

"Unless someone like you cares a whole lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not."

Dr Seuss

Morning. I am in a very helpful mood.

I helped them clear the table. Almost saved on washing up. Then I helped on watering the garden. Managed to make the holes in the end of the hose bigger. Great shot of my bum eh? Thirdly, I had to investigate an enormous basket that took up residence on the kitchen floor. There was some food in it. Thought I might eat it. Save aprecious from herself. How helpful eh?

Have you heard of the empathy-altruism hypothesis? No. Me neither. Here it is: 'Helping behaviour' - happens because you empathise with someone. I'm a bit too in tune sometimes, I over empathise. And feel a bit too much. Which is why I want to kill people who come into MY our house. But only sometimes, obviously otherwise Rossendale would be littered with corpses. And Jane Tennyson would rock up. Or Columbo. Or Cagney and Lacey.* And I would be put in prison. For life. Or longer. So that wouldn't be any good because I wouldn't be able to help any more therefore I am going to let most people into the house. Apart from if they are coming in through the window. Then I am going to bite their bottoms. Would that be helpful?

*The Anderson Shelter - Rowan is an expert on crime scenes and we have learnt all we know from her. Her journal is much under-visited too.

Today we are off to look at the camper van! Whey Hey! (Sp?) We are taking my grandmother's picnic basket. Snotty loves this. We once took it to Shrewsbury Folk Festival and myself and two nephews practically dislocated our shoulders carrying it. What hope an aprecious alone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.