"The Song of the Bluebell Fairy"

My hundred thousand bells of blue, 
The splendour of the Spring, 
They carpet all the woods anew 
With royalty of sapphire hue; 
The Primrose is the Queen, 'tis true. 
But surely I am King! 
Ah yes, 
The peerless Woodland King!

Loud, loud the thrushes sing their song; 
The bluebell woods are wide; 
My stems are tall and straight and strong; 
From ugly streets the children throng, 
They gather armfuls, great and long, 
Then home they troop in pride 
Ah yes, 
With laughter and with pride!


A poem with illustration taken from "Flower Fairies of the Spring", published in 1923 by Cicely Mary Barker (1895-1973)



In the late afternoon I took an enchanting walk through the woods next to my Chesham home.  I saw what looked like fairies fluttering down from the tall canopy of trees, but when I stooped to look at the leaf-covered floor I saw only fallen blossoms.



More bluebells and blossom can be seen in the extra photos included with this entry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.