Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Cameras don't like Lucozade

When I had the start of the lurgy I attempted to go to work and had the camera in my bag with a bottle of lucozade. Top wasn't on too well and the camera got soaked. Things have been going bad to worse especially with the shutter totally gummed up and the flash not popping up. Called the insurance to see about getting it repaired and they wrote it off, there and then and settled. Part of me thinks "Oh good service", but another part thinks "Why the fuck was that so easy? Why don't we repair things anymore?" I have no guilt here as I was totally up front with them, but it still seems a bit wrong to me.

Anyway, regaled the tale to a colleague, an old school instrument tech and he told me to give it a spray with WD40.... the bloody thing is as good as new now.... will keep the cash to one side for now though as you never know when the citric acid in the lucozade will cause havoc with the circuit boards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.