Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Hands and Knees

When we arrived back from Campbeltown yesterday something was amiss. The gate was still closed to keep the sheep and rabbits out of the garden, but the rubbish bin had been moved. It gets emptied first thing on a Friday and Mrs B had put it back in its usual position before we headed to the Wee Toon. Someone must have moved it, but who?

Everything else was in order so the bin was returned to its rightful position and we started to empty the car of our purchases. When I went into the boat shed with a topped up petrol can, low and behold there was a large sealed palette lying in what had been an empty space. I twigged right away as I was expecting a load of tiles from Glasgow, although I had been told they probably wouldn't arrive until after the holiday weekend. I got to know the Oban Express lorry drivers quite well when we were building our house, and one of them clearly knew where I would want the palette. The driver must have reversed into the garden, moved the bin out of the way and opened the boat shed doors before using his hydraulic trolley to wheel the palette into the shed. That's one of the many joys of living in a small community - you get to know people and they are almost always very helpful. I must thank him the next time I see him!

Anyway, with the tiles delivered and the weather warm, sunny and breezy, there were no excuses for not get on with tiling our patio today, the last big job to be done in our house. Ended up working for 10 hours on it, assisted when necessary by Mrs B. I actually find tiling a very satisfying job, although it is pretty sore on the joints when you are on your hands and knees most of the time!

I think I am going to end up short of a few tiles, so I could be at this job for a while yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.