Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Whistling a Happy Tune

I heard the lovely song of this Western Meadowlark from a distance and followed it until I found him.  It was a great birding day at the ponds.  I saw 9 different species in about 30 minutes, before I had to jog back to the car in the rain (with my camera under my T shirt).  

"The buoyant, flutelike melody of the Western Meadowlark ringing out across a field can brighten anyone’s day. Meadowlarks are often more easily heard than seen, unless you spot a male singing from a fence post. This colorful member of the blackbird family flashes a vibrant yellow breast crossed by a distinctive, black, V-shaped band. Look and listen for these stout ground feeders in grasslands, meadows, pastures, and along marsh edges throughout the West and Midwest, where flocks strut and feed on seeds and insects."      ~ allaboutbirds.org 

My Meadowlark looks much better full screen. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.