Election Day

It is a bit obvious, but I thought today's Blip should reflect Election Day, or is that Polling Day. I notice this Polling Station is now called a Polling Place, I wonder when that changed, it is the first time I have noticed, but not necessarily the first time it has changed.

When I arrived at my designated Polling Place there was an elderly gentleman in front of me collecting his polling sheet. After the sheet had been explained to him at some length by a lady of East European origin, he eventually decided the person he wanted to vote for was not one of the listed candidates.

More lengthy explanation followed to the effect that he could only vote for somebody on the list, and how he could tell which party they represented. He eventually made it over to the booth. I think his selected candidate may have been pretty random! I suspect he wanted to vote for the party leader, rather than the constituency candidate. Considering the assistance he received from the very patient East European lady I hope he did not vote for UKIP.

Weather was a mixture of sunshine occasional showers and a cold wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.