analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Wupperthal Dzawlers. Leitz Summicron 35mm V4.

I have just gotten done with a particularly hard week of work.  The good part is that I'm off for the next four days and my dearest friend is coming into town tomorrow until Monday!  The bad part is that I had no Blippertunities at all today.  I'm a bit surprised I managed anything original this week.  And back I go to the Archives.  My old photograph of the village of Wupperthal taken in August 1993 on Fuji 800 ISO color print film reminded my of this quaint image from the same trip. 
The folks that live in Wupperthal earn their way in the world by harvesting the wild bush that yields the now famous Rooibos Tea.  Once, not so long ago, it was a local secret of the Cederberg district.  The other products of the village are the famous shoes and ankle boots (called veldskoene in Afrikaans).  The uppers of the Wuppertal shoes are traditionally made of buck skin and the soles of old car tires.  These shoes and "vellies" have a special name in colloquial South African: "Wuppertal Jawlers".  In slang Afrikaans, to "jol" means to party or have fun, or even to date or court.  If one then pronounces the word the way the locals of Wuppertal would, it becomes "dzawl", hence Wupperthal Dzawlers.  The photograph shows the "showroom" of the shoe factory with the wares merely placed in rows on the beautiful old cedar or pine floor with the winter sun pouring through the window to illuminate them.  I couldn't resist, and beg the Blip Constabulary's indulgence yet again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.