Welcome Back Winter

After yesterday's rain it was wild and windy this morning - and bloomin' chilly.

In Wetherby the river levels were quite high - a reflection of all the recent rainfall.

We went for our walk around 11:30 - and I had to wear my hat and my breath was steaming in the cold! However in a remarkable turnaround, at around 12:30 the sun came out and it was quite warm. This was the sight that greeted me looking back towards Boston Spa over Clifford Moor - the sun lighting up the rape crop and the dark clouds heading off into the distance.

I saw my first swifts of the summer today - they must have though they had taken a wrong turn on their migration north! The photo has what appears to be a load of little marks on it - these are in fact swarms of insects - and the swifts were circling around and catching them. A tasty feast to keep them warm on a cold day.

Back home around 1:15 to see the closing stages of the Grand Prix qualifying - (no spoilers here as I know some watch the highlights on BBC later).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.