Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Peek-a-boo!

Yep, I'm going for the funny shot again - doesn't it look like she is hiding from him, playing hide-n-seek, perhaps? I am fully aware, of course, that they are engage in propagating the species (fancy way of say that they are getting their groove on), but it just screamed "peek-a-boo" to me, so there you go.

Peek at me LARGE

These are a pair of Spangled Skimmers (dragonflies - libellula cyanea) in case you are wondering. I only know this because I spent the better part of an hour scouring my "Dragnonflies and Damselflies of the East" field guide after I got home. The male is blue while the female is sort of a metalic gold. Fascinating creatures, dragonflies. I got interested in photographing them late last summer, so didn't get a chance to do much - so, now that summer is underway, i am in dragonfly-heaven!

Thank you SO MUCH for all your hearts, stars and comments on my bossy little finch yesterday! You propelled them right onto the Spotlight page, which is always a thrill. I was glad that you all reacted the same way I did - with a snort of laughter, or at least a giggle.

I'm off to harvest some Swiss Chard from my garden for dinner tonight -yay! Hope you all had (or are having) a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.