kwchas

By kwchas

Holly Blue Butterfly

I seem to have photographed a few butterflies in recent weeks and here is another new one to add to the collection. This is a Holly Blue butterfly and I spent ages waiting for it to fully open its wings but this was the best I could manage.

When I got home I looked it up on the excellent British Butterflies website and was interested to read that:

The Holly blue can be a frustrating butterfly to photograph. It is relatively easy to take pictures of individuals resting with wings closed but somewhat more time consuming to photograph with its wings open."

I would agree with that.

This was taken along National Cycle Route 62 where it follows the long disused Latchford to Runcorn canal on the outskirts of Warrington.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.