Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Travelling south (and a rant)

Today was spent travelling from home to Hemel Hempstead. Bob gave me a lift to Hexham Station, then train to Newcastle, Newcastle to Kings Cross and Euston to Hemel Hempstead.

I have a large suitcase with me because I had to bring 10 prints with me for the course.  I had three different lots of help. I've decided that white hair is an asset!  One lovely man even wheeled my suitcase the length of the platform at Kings Cross.

I'm staying at Shendish Manor Hotel, which has a golf course and a beautiful setting.  I have a lovely room and the hotel facilities are good.

Now for the rant (please note Molly, that Ann is not the only one to rant!)

In the quiet coach all was well to Darlington, when two women sat at the table across the aisle from me. They were well dressed and talked loudly and constantly, often at the same time. The people opposite them hunkered down with their newspapers. We all heaved a sigh of relief when they alighted at Peterborough.

At dinner last night, I could not help overhearing a young couple, several tables away. I think he was trying to impress. He talked loudly and she could not get a word in edgeways. 

The final straw were the four men who sat waiting for their table and happened to be very close to me.  They were drunk and their language was horrendous. I'm not easily shocked but it really spoiled my meal.

What happened next, probably would not have happened if I was not already stressed by the day and by the run up to coming away.  I went to them and said that if they really had to use that sort of language they should go to a private room.  I must have been fierce because they were stunned to silence.

Then my laptop would not connect to the internet and I could not upload my blip. I have some lovely images from the woodland here.  I had to go to bed defeated but have finally managed to sort out the connection this morning.

Thanks for listening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.