Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sleepy

It's been a number of years since I last visited St. Mary's Island in North Tyneside, so I thought I'd pop out on the Metro after a work meeting in Newcastle had finished. 

Walking up the beach from Monkseaton there was plenty of bird life, including Terns, Ringed Plover, Sanderling and Sand Martins, but it was sad to see Spanish City (where I once had a disagreement with a waltzer) all boarded up. 

The tide was out so I was able to cross the causeway onto the island where I made my way behind the lighthouse to the bird hide. It was there that I discovered that the bird hide is now very much a seal hide, as a group of Grey Seals have adopted the island as a haul out spot during moulting season. There was very clear guidance from the St. Mary's Seal Watch group around keeping well away from the seals, along with lots of helpful information. 

This individual was the closest to the lighthouse perimeter, from where I was able to take the picture. An unexpected highlight on a busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.