Backlit Ferns

After a full night's sleep, I feel quite fine being home. I loved our trip and am so thankful that it all went so well. And I'm happy to be home, sleeping in our own bed, snuggling with the kitties, and hanging out with Arvin's daughter Helena. Life is good.

I spent the day doing all kinds of stuff to catch up. Even though I did the laundry in New York, there was plenty waiting for us at home from before we took off on our trip. So I'm still doing wash as I type. Then Helena came over and the three of us headed out to shop and refill the larders. We went to the farmer's coop for bird and cat food, to Costco for all kinds of stuff, and to Haggen's for groceries and meds. It was a full day of shopping. Before we landed at Haggen's we stopped at Jalapeno's for a yummy Mexican lunch.

Once home Helena and Arvin rested while I unloaded all the shopping and continued straightening things out. When they woke I encouraged them to join me on a walk. Helena was happily willing. Arvin not so much. But with some prodding he came along. We walked up to Big Rock Garden. I have to say that spring is in full bloom around here and everything is just so beautiful. I think the warm winter gave the plants a boost and there are thick flowering trees I don't know if I'd ever noticed before. Really lovely. And of course, the forest was full of emerging plants including the ferns. I always love how they look as they unfurl and uncurl into ferns. When backlit they are especially beautiful to me. These were on the path from the woods that leads to the entrance to the garden.

Now we are heading into a quiet evening. Like I said, it is good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.