Journey Through Time

By Sue

Wilson's Warblers

This pretty couple visited the bird bath today.  I wish it was a better photo, but I never got a chance for another picture of them, so I guess this is better than nothing.  I looked up how they got their name and now I know. 

Alexander Wilson (July 6, 1766 – August 23, 1813) was a Scottish-American poetornithologistnaturalist, and illustrator. Identified by George Ord as the "Father of American Ornithology," Wilson is now regarded as the greatest American ornithologist before Audubon.[1]
Several species of bird are named after Wilson, including the Wilson's storm-petrelWilson's ploverWilson's phalaropeWilson's snipe, and Wilson's warbler. The now obsolete warbler genus Wilsonia was named for him by Charles Lucien BonaparteThe Wilson Journal of Ornithology and the Wilson Ornithological Society also bear his name.
I was busy today helping my aunt. With my car back in order, I was able to finally get her to the grocery store and the library (for Molly Gloss's book, Falling From Horses, which she will love!) and a neighbor and I helped her with her bed, as we had to replace the taller bed risers that she was trying out for some shorter ones.  The risers help a lot with her new bed comforter set, and now she can get into bed easier.  Auntie is short and she struggled to get into the tall bed, but now she's going to be happy, I think.  But that entailed some struggles on our part to get that done.  I vacuumed her bedroom, and under the bed and that chore is done for her.  I'm returning tomorrow to see what I can do about her new window curtains.  If I had an electric screwdriver, this would be a piece of cake.  But I don't, so it won't.  I doubt I can get the new curtain rod mounted over her window by myself.  Then she will probably come back to my house so she can do her laundry and have dinner.  Then Monday I will sleep all day! ha
Actually what I should do is sit at the computer and look at all your wonderful photos.  Sigh.  Horribly behind again.
Take care,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.