The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Langdale Pikes sunset

I had a choice, stay in and watch the Diamond Jubilee concert, join the throng to see the lighting of the beacon on Arnside Knott, or go and see the sun setting from Sandside. No contest.

In nearly two years of blipping, I have often taken a photograph from here where the Langdale Pikes are visible between the low hills in the foreground, but I am pretty sure I have never blipped them until now. The solitary shelduck obligingly waddled into the view, while a group of low flying birds crossed right to left (and I can't quite work out what they are).

After yesterday's rain that dampened the Jubilee celebrations, today was fine and sunny. After our return from Bishop Wilton (after dropping Nancy off after her fortnight's stay with us), we spent a few hours working on the allotment. We have fallen a little behind as the growing season is now in full swing.

In our thoughts at the moment is Mike P, my blip mentor and the person responsible for starting me on this odyssey, who has faced quite a challenge this last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.