WHAT YOU DON'T ASK FOR, YOU DON'T GET!

My lovely friend, Debbie, took me out for lunch yesterday and we had a great "catch-up" chat.  Debbie and I worked together several years ago, before she was married - in fact, I was instrumental in her getting a job in two of the Solicitors' offices I worked in - and I can honestly say it has been a pleasure to know her throughout all these years.

She is now married with a lovely husband and two wonderful children and I am so pleased that we still keep in touch.  I am very blessed that many of those I worked with do still keep in touch - and that doesn't often happen - once you leave work, you tend to "leave people" too - because work was the common denominator.

We had lunch at The Marriott in Swindon, and I managed to walk up from the car park, which took about 5 minutes, but which was quite tiring, as it was the furthest I have walked since my operation procedure,  but I did it!  It  was a lovely oasis and a joy for me, as it got me out of the house, and when it was time to leave, we wandered through the reception area, still chatting.  

I was about to take a photograph of these beautiful Anthurium flowers when a lady started to move the display off the large glass bowl it was resting on.  She spilt some water from the base and commented that she was pleased they had been watered - so we guessed that she had provided the flowers, well - you know me - we got chatting and I found out her name was Claire.

Her flower shop, Tulipana (good name for a flower shop) is in Highworth and she was telling us about all the different places she puts flowers - this was of great interest to Debbie as she and her husband are in the process of starting up a coffee-bean roasting business - all very exciting.

We started to walk out with Claire carrying the arrangement when I asked her what she was going to do with it - she said it was destined for the bin, to which I exclaimed "The bin?" and her next comment was "Unless you want it, of course!"  Well, I almost bit her hand off!!

So - here is a beautiful arrangement - not that easy to photograph, but a reminder of a lovely lunch and two very kind ladies!

It reminded me of this verse:

“Ask, and you will be given what you ask for. 
Seek, and you will find. 
Knock, and the door will be opened.
Matthew 7:7 
The Living Bible

P.S.  Mr. HCB's comment when he saw it was "Well, that saves me a job!"

If you are interested in reading my latest blog, A Warm Blanket, have a look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.