The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Head Above Water

This is the Saint Anthony Falls Bridge that carries Interstate 35W over the Mississippi River. I snapped it on the way to a dinner meeting. The low sun was bouncing light off of the waters surface and it provided a natural glow across the entire span of the bridge. This is a famous bridge for all of the wrong reasons. It was built to replace the 35W bridge that collapsed in 2007, killing 13 people and injuring 145. The bridge carries eight lanes of traffic and 150,000 cars per day. It is over 600 meters long. But, perhaps the most amazing fact about this bridge is that the old bridge collapsed on August 1, 2007 and the new bridge was completed less than fourteen months later. It is too bad it takes tragedy for the "powers that be" to come together and get things done on budget and in record time.

A hectic day, I had this one occasion to use my camera and had no time to view any journal entries of others. In fact, I am still trying to make it through all of the wonderful comments left for me over the last 24 hours (including the lovely birthday wishes to Bonnie). I knew it was going to be a rough week that was going to require exceptional focus. So, I must post and run to bed. That said, I hope to sneak a few moments at some point this week to return your kindness and to say hello and see your wonderful images.

Ciao for now and thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.