Cavendish Mill...

It was the last day of my First Aid course for work today. It's been in Ashton. I have passed so I'm now a qualified doctor practically and can legally do medical things to people. God help us all. I've not really had time to look around the town and the route from the tram station to the venue took me through a pretty uninspiring part of the town.

But, across the street from the venue was this wonderful, restored cotton mill. It's now full of offices I think. When Manchester was Cottonopolis, Ashton would have been full of mills with their chimneys punctuating the sooty skyline. As the industry died the buildings were torn down. A few, like this one, survived. Close to the city centre they have been converted into trendy, expensive loft apartments. I wonder what the people who worked in those mills for a pittance would make of well off people living there? Incomprehensible to them I think.

But loft living doesn't seem to have reached Ashton yet. If it did I'd like an apartment in some of the rooms that wrap themselves round the chimney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.