Local Windmill, Leiderdorp, Zuid Holland

My Haarlem Flickr album --
https://www.flickr.com/photos/128272653@N02/sets/72157652917762540

An unexpected windmill, this one.  I had already spent several hours in Leiden exploring the city and absorbing what 'it was all about', and my impression is that Leiden is an extremely wealthy town.  I don't think everyone has a boat but many do, or, at least, have at least one friend or family member who owns one.  One can see how the town was built in the middle of all that water.  There are several windmills in Leiden.  I took shots and entered one of them (the other was not my type) and bought, for a change, three windmill souvenirs for myself and a windmill construction kit intended for two lovely girls I often come across here.  (No, they won't get it yet ... haha!)

Leiden is also what you would call a university town.  The University of Leiden is well-known worldwide and many intellectuals here prefer to go there because of the prestigious faculty and top-rate reputation.  It was in fact the university which prompted my first visit to the town more than a decade ago, when we had the popular Philippine writer-poet-critic Krip Yuson here on a visit.  He had engagements in Leiden and Rotterdam as well as an urgent curiosity with regards to our coffee shops, several of which guaranteed a most happy stay.

It was when I was driving out of town on my way to the A4 when I chanced upon this little village just outside Leiden.  This windmill is one of the prettiest I have ever seen, ever.  The nicest thing was that it was so rural in character, so unaffected, so genuine.

I hope you all have had a good weekend!  Thank you for commenting, if you have commented, and for the stars.  I will try to catch up some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.