Close encounter

We had a full day today before our flight this evening so we decided to make the most of it and try our snorkelling at a beach known for fish life ...and turtles.  

We've been quite surprised at the lack of turtles we've seen so were hoping for a close up. Rich decided in the end not to snorkel so I had a tour of the coral on my own. This was probably a good thing as it was extremely shallow in places and I think Rich may have come back sandpapered! I got away with a slight graze on my foot.

It was also cold without my wetsuit but I just finned fast in the hope of warming up and covering as much of the bay as possible to find my turtle.

Just as I'd given up hope, and decided there were none of the 29 tagged turtles in the bay right now, one came up from a deeper cave right in front of my nose for a breath of fresh air.  K15, at over 23kg and more than half a metre in shell length, took a few gulps of air, had a good inspection of me and headed right back from where he came, not bothered by me at all. One of the conservationists on the beach told me that they can stay underwater asleep for three to four hours so I'm pleased he chose that moment to wake up!

A most satisfying morning.  We spent the afternoon by the pool, I had my last gluten free pancake and we watched our final pink sunset just before catching a taxi to the outdoor airport.  After a little delay as a light wouldn't switch off in the cockpit, we were told it wasn't flight critical, the paperwork was duly completed and we had a smooth flight to LA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.