Life and me

By CarolineL

in the Mythic Garden

I've had the loveliest day.
This morning we went to Exeter Museum and saw two exhibitions, the first was of finalists and winners of the International Garden Photographer of the Year. Such amazing photography of such a standard. I was torn between giving up altogether and being inspired to invest in a much better camera and keep on trying. (the second choice won of course, now I just need some money !)
The second exhibition was of photographs by james ravilious, scenes from rural North Devon in the seventies, which made me hopelessly nostalgic for my North Devon childhood. I have always loved his work and it was wonderful to see so many prints displayed.

This afternoon we went to Chagford to the stone lane gardens which hosts the annual Mythic Garden sculpture exhibition. This year the theme is birds,and there were many wonderful sculptures to choose from,but I especially liked these perky looking hens.
Its a very lovely semi-wild garden which hosts the national collections of wild-origin birch and alder. It consists of connecting stands of beautiful trees with rambling underplantings, and full of birdsong. I never knew there are so many different birches.
Its a really restful pleasant place to visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.